Books ✓ Appalachian Spring: Score Music, Stage Screen

Appalachian Spring: Score.

Rating: 3/5 7271 | Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations


Pages: 84

Language: English

Book format: An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Publisher: Boosey Hawkes Inc (Jun. 2004)

By: Aaron Copland (Composer)

(Boosey Hawkes Scores/Books). 'Appalachian Spring' was composed in 1943-44 as a ballet for Miss Martha Graham on a commission from the Elisabeth Sprague Coolidge Foundation. It was first performed by Miss Graham and her company at the Coolidge Festival in the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., on October 30, 1944. The original scoring called for a chamber ensemble of thirteen instruments. The present arrangement for symphony orchestra was made by the composer in the spring of 1945. It is a condensed version of the ballet, retaining all essential features but omitting those sections in which the interest is primarily choreographic. In 1945 'Appalachian Spring' received the Pulitzer Prize for music as well as the award of the Music Critics Circle of New York for the outstanding theatrical work of the season.

Read online or download a free book: Appalachian Spring: Score.pdf

Download book - Appalachian Spring: Score.pdf

Related Files

  • Glacier National Park (Moon Handbooks Practical Nomad) (Moon Glacier National Park)
  • The first part of Goethe's Faust
  • Rapaki Wahine Whakamaumahara: Memories of the Rapaki Branch Maori Women's Welfare League as Told to Dr. Libby (Elizabeth) Plumridge
  • Ceramics (Step by Step Art School)
  • A Dark Stranger's Guide To The Isle Of Man: Volume 1
  • The Aletheia, spirit of truth: a series of letters in which the principles of the United Society known as Shakers are set forth and illustrated
  • Necessary and sufficient conditions for uniqueness of a Cournot equilibrium
  • Works of Francis Bacon (1)

  • Name:
    The message text: